1 Year Together and 10 Weeks Away

evolution

Its been 1 year already! The above image represents my progression as a blogger. When I started blogging, it was the first time in my life that I would be on the front-end of the web. My training in Systems Engineering made me think in terms of engines and not chassis. Here I was with the task of learning how to interact with the front-end of the web with no training to guide me.

Such choices are life changing. Simply put when we are faced with such choices we can step back to safety or move forward into growth. All growth is painful. It requires a shedding of the familiar and an acceptance of the unknown. Our 1  year together has been phenomenal growth experience for me! This week I will be looking at what it takes to get an online presence.

Get a Compelling Reason

You need a reason to start and stick with anything! It is always difficult to be consistent and without a good reason, excuses will be given and in the end failure will result.

Decide on a Tool

Decide on a tool to use. This depends on what kind of site you want to build, your technical and personal resources and available alternatives. When I first started blogging, I accepted my limitations. As a result, I use a cloud based WordPress installation to get a hang of the entire process.

Using Content Management Systems

Selecting a Content Management System should be based on 4 factors:

  1. Abilities
  2. Support
  3. Usage
  4. Maturity

In the world today, the top 3 are WordPress, Joomla and Drupal. They all have their strengths and weaknesses. When it comes to usage, WordPress is best for beginners, Joomla is preferred by designers and Drupal is preferred by developers.

Start

When the idea for a gaming blog first came up, I wasn’t ready. I was still a programmer then more concerned with writing code than prose. In the last one year, I have changed in a lot of ways. I am no longer just a programmer! My understanding of the entire software development process has gotten better.

Gratitude

I want to thank everyone who has supported me on this journey in the last one year. Their names are too many to mention but you all know yourselves. My family deserves the most credit all that I am I owe to you. The guest writers who make me have content each week deserve a word of thanks. My readers if you don’t come then what’s the point?

I will be shutting down for the next 10 weeks. With 1 year done, I want to take the next 10 weeks to seek a new direction for the blog. When I come back in July 6th, I expect to be back guns blazing.

Thanks everyone for everything!

Leave a Reply

