Redefining Education

udacityHello Everyone! For the rest of this month, I will be doing product showcases for great products out there. To start with Clay.io started a game development competition. You can find the details here. The deadline for the competition is on the 5th of April.

The face of education is really changing with the web. Today MOOCs are changing the perception of education from the traditional brick and mortar academies. In the past, if you wanted to learn something, you could ask people, do it yourself or go to university.

MOOCs one the other hand are designed for a world where information is everywhere. Its a new way of learning in a networked world.

MOOCs are courses that are open, participatory and distributed. They are like any other course with facilitators, course materials, starting and ending dates. However MOOCs aren’t just schools. Neither are they just online courses. They are a way to participate in a learning experience.

I have tried out a couple of MOOCs in my life. Personally, my favorite is Udacity. I love the way courses are handled. You can pace yourself and study at your own time. Currently, I am offering 3 courses on Udacity they are the How to Build a Startup, HTML5 Game Development and Interactive 3D Graphics. The beautiful thing is that because there is no rush, I can pace myself and eventually finish. Udacity’s competitors include CourseraCodeacademyedX and Venture Lab.

The competitors bring a different flavor to the mix and to each his own! I prefer Udacity because I enjoy learning at my own pace. Yes I crawled out of the the Department of Systems Engineering at the University of Lagos but I love learning.

Love them or hate them, MOOCs will redefine the debate around conventional education. Are they a fad, only time will tell. Let me have your thoughts in the comments area below.

One thought on “Redefining Education

  1. i strongly believe that MOOCs are the future of the classroom. But as a Nigerian, a serious question is about how many Nigerians are willing to take the challenge to learn for the sake of development.

    Good job on this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

